Dr. Robert D. Busch Receives 2018 Standards Service Award

American Nuclear Society (ANS) President John E. Kelly recognized several award recipients at the opening plenary of the ANS Winter Meeting at the Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek Hotel in Orlando, Florida, on Monday, November 12, 2018. Dr. Robert D. Busch was recognized as the 2018 Standards Service Award recipient. The Standards Service Award recognizes outstanding achievement by individuals in the generation and use of ANS standards in the field of nuclear science and engineering.

Robert Busch joined ANS in 1987 and became involved in the ANS standards program shortly after. He first joined the ANS-8.20 Working Group (Nuclear Criticality Safety Training) which led to his support and often leadership of several other ANS standards. In 1993, he became a member of the Nuclear Criticality Safety Consensus Committee (NCSCC) formerly N16. Busch served two terms as NCSCC Chair (2011–2017) and remains an active member today.

Busch has held many positions at the University of New Mexico (UNM) since 1976, with the exception of 1978 through 1985, when he worked as a consultant in energy engineering and software design. Busch is currently in charge of the university’s Nuclear Engineering Laboratory and is Chief Reactor Supervisor for their teaching reactor. In addition to teaching, he is a lecturer and undergraduate advisor.

Busch has taught a series of short courses for new practitioners and managers to understand nuclear criticality safety. He continues to teach young professionals about nuclear criticality safety using ANS-8 standards as the foundation for his classes, with an emphasis on the importance of voluntary consensus standards. Many of his past students are heavily involved in the ANS standards program and are following in his footsteps by playing major roles. Busch’s participation in the ANS standards program and his teaching have made the industry safer through the development and use of voluntary consensus standards.

In addition to Busch’s support of ANS standards, he is active in several ANS governance activities. Busch’s commitment and service was recognized by his peers in the ANS Nuclear Criticality Safety Division by awarding him their Distinguished Service Award in 2001. He is also a member of the ANS Education, Training & Workforce Development Division. As a member of the ANS Professional Engineering (PE) Examination Committee, Busch is one of the main developers of a nuclear PE exam online module program currently in development. If that’s not enough, Busch is coauthoring a new book titled Nuclear Criticality Safety: Evaluations, Calculations, and Experiences.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *