Criteria: For outstanding service in carrying out the activities of the NCSD, including leadership in governance functions, the development of its technical program, the organization of topical meetings, workshops and tutorials, professional consensus standards, and other functions performed by special committees.


Criteria: For outstanding contributions in the development and application of nuclear criticality safety (NCS) technology. These contributions include, but are not limited to: 1) the performance and evaluation of experimental measurements pertinent to NCS, 2) the development of analytical and computational NCS methods, 3) notable NCS engineering applications such as the definition of upset conditions for complex fissile systems and/or the establishment of novel reactivity control strategies, 4) the development of the technical bases for effective and useful NCS guides, standards and regulations, and 5) the development and conduct of NCS education and training programs in these technical areas.
Membership Requirements: None

NCSD Awards

For several years, the NCSD has been giving two awards to members who have provided outstanding service to the Division or outstanding technical contributions to the field. The awards are typically presented at each ANS National Winter Meeting. Both awards come with a citation and a monetary award.


Year Distinguished Service Award Winners Technical Excellence Award Winners
2014 Larry Wetzel  
2013 Bonnie Rumble Calvin Hopper
2012 Rob Frost Steve Clement
2010 Fitz Trumble Luiz Leal
2009 Mikey Brady-Raap  
2008 Calvin Hopper Richard McKnight
2007 Michael Westfall Robert Rothe
2006 Robert E. Wilson David P. Heinrichs
2005 Hans Toffer Thomas P. McLaughlin, Shean P. Monahan, Norman L. Pruvost
Vladimir V. Frolov, Boris G. Ryazanov, Victor I. Sviridov
2004 Adolph Garcia Jim Morman
2003 Mark DeHart Jerry McKamy
2002 George Bidinger Tom Reilly
2001 Robert Busch Lester Petrie
2000 Francis Alcorn Blair Briggs
2000 Valerie Putman  

How to Submit: The NCSD Honors & Awards Committee is soliciting written nominations from NCSD members. The submittal should indicate which award and include the name, affiliation, address, e-mail address, and telephone number of both the candidate and the sponsor. Up to 500 words of written narrative should describe how the candidate has met the criteria for the award in sufficient detail as to provide the information for the extended citation.

A nomination form (Word) is available here. The H&A Committee will confirm the qualifications of nominees and select the awardees by consensus. Please remember that the deadline for nominations is August 31!! Submit nominations to: Andy Prichard, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, P.O. Box 999, MSIN K8-34, Richland, WA  99352 USA . (Andrew.Prichard@pnnl.gov)